Little Guys grapple in Superior tournament

Print Article

  • Brother and sister Ella and Asher Griffin from Plains wrestle in the 60 lb weight class.

  • 1

    Plains Little Guy Wrestlers warm up in the Superior gym Saturday, March 11.

  • 2

    Johhny Waterbury wrestling Columbia Falls wrestler Wade Calloway.

  • Brother and sister Ella and Asher Griffin from Plains wrestle in the 60 lb weight class.

  • 1

    Plains Little Guy Wrestlers warm up in the Superior gym Saturday, March 11.

  • 2

    Johhny Waterbury wrestling Columbia Falls wrestler Wade Calloway.

Saturday, March 11 Superior High School held a Little Guy Wrestling Qualifying Tournament. Six teams were present; Plains/Hot Springs. Frenchtown, Missoula. Clark Fork, Thompson Falls, and Bonner. Weigh-ins took place and after some warm ups the wrestlers began according to their experience; Middles started wrestling at 9 a.m., Novices began wrestling at 11 a.m. The juniors would not be wrestling at this tournament, since they will be wrestling at the Inter-Valley Tournament, which will be held in Plains on Friday, March 17 at 5 p.m. and on Saturday March 18 at 9 a.m.

“This is the first qualifying tournament in the western Montana little guy program. There is one more qualifyer in Plains Friday and Saturday. This is a great tournament for our kids and our wrestling family. A lot of time and effort goes into putting these tournaments on. This is a great family sport and we could not do it without the support of our Clark Fork Wrestling Family,“ tournament organizer, Charlie Crabb stated,

Here are the final results of the 2017 Unit 3 Tournament. (Frenchtown= FTN, ClarkFork =CFK, Bonner=BON, Plains/Hot Springs=PHS, Missoula=MSO, TFS=Thompson Falls)

Unit 3—Middles Finals

Weight class, Place, Wrestler, Community


1. Issac Stewart FTN

2. Ryder Hansen CFK

3. Connor Hesse FTN


1 . Gunnar Gannerelli PHS

2. Ben Brown BON

3. Corbin Long FTN


1. Decker Milendar CFK

2. Isaac Miller CFK


1. Lucas Kovalsky CFK

2. Tanner Davis BON

3. Keith Zander BON

4. Porter Tollefson FTN

5. Jake Jamieson BON

6. Wyatt Zander BON

7. Owen Daniel MSO

8. Ben Haley BON


1. Emmett Zander BON

2. Spur Ryan PHS

3. Aaron Pfister PHS

4. Braydn Rate FTN

5. Thatcher Pier FTN

6. Owen Doyle CFK

7. Sully Belcourt FTN


1. Roman Duke FTN

2. Taylor Angle PHS

3. Mark Gardener MSO

4. Skyllar Lisle MSO


1. Brady Screnk PHS

2. Brody Black PHS

3. Dillon Warner FTN


1. Kyle Lawson PHS

2. Avery Crane PHS

3. Mackenzie Hilgren MSO

4. Dryce Davey FTN

5. Henry Sawfer BON


1. Chase Woodson CFK

2. Braedyn Smetana BON


1. Charlie Watson MSO

2. Alexis Degele BON

3. Jace Duvall FTN


1. Smokey Stoker FTN

2. Jake Bidlake FTN

3. Levi Blood PHS


1. Silas Acker CFK

2. Carter McLees

3. Ben king


1. Dylan Wahl BON

2. Adrian Mendez


1. Hayden Gillespie MSO

2. Kaden Golding BON

3. Mathew Rickett FTN




1. Charlie Anderson CFK

2. Thane Curry TFS



Unit 3--Novice Finals


1. Kade Bagley FTN

2. Isaiah Shoupe BON

3. Danny Downard FTN


1. Phineas Cataldo CFK

2. Trizten Avilla CFK

3. John Thurston PHS

4. Gavin Kelly BON


1. Jordan Waner FTN

2. Gavin Schrenk PHS

3. Micah Acker CFK

4. Kort Craft PHS

5. Braden Shurmard BON

6. Khalil Brown BON

7. Joseph Wood CFK

8. Bill Detienne PHS


1. Bow Peterson FTN

2. Luke Widman FTN

3. Wade Calloway CFK

4. Johnny Waterbury PHS

5. Gage Rausch CFK

6. Aiden Johnson MSO

7. Andrew Allen CFK

8. Beau Crabb PHS


1. Gabe Mobley FTN

2. Devin Barnes PHS

3. Drew Carey PHS

4. Change Angle PHS

5. Drew Fuller BON

6. Mason Bennet MSO

7. Brody Sentell FTN

8. Sam Doughty CFK


1. Quincy Stiles PHS

2. Nick McAllister PHS

3. Wyatt Campbell TFS

4. Cameron Anderson CFK


1. Roper Woodard FTN

2. Liam Baldassin MSO

3. Cole Houlihan FTN

4. Dillon Gunlock BON

5. TJ Eslinger FTN


1. Branch Martin FTN

2. Gage Rate FTN

3. Hunter Crane PHS

4. Boston Adams MSO

5. Brendan Vanderwall PHS

6. Colter Stav FTN

7. Logan Turner CFK


1. Brody Hardy FTN

2. Brady Schmill BON

3. Jaron Velez PHS

4. Landon Bryan MSO

5. Tyler Igarik FTN

6. Jacob Hutchin PHS


1 . Colin Lerback MSO


1. Grant Hoskinson FTN

2. Kamdyn Henderson FTN

3. Jace Koshataka MSO

4. Wyatt Hoskinson FTN


1. Jaxson Green CFK

2. Austin Harkin MSO

3. Zander Beck MSO

4. Zhander Moua FTN


1. Madisyn Gillespie MSO

2. Mathew CrazyBoy


1. Austin Brush TN

2. Denny Black PHS

3. Kaleb Pearce CFK

Print Article

Read More Sports

Superior minors deliver dual titles

June 06, 2018 at 1:44 pm | Mineral Independent Over the weekend, the Superior minors baseball team capped an undefeated season by sweeping through the competition to claim the Clark Fork Cal Ripken Baseball Tournament Championship. The Bobcats ...


Read More

Clark Fork Cougs get ready for a second half run

June 06, 2018 at 10:57 am | Lake County Leader Clark Fork Cougs’ manager Shawn Sorenson and his coaching staff are continuing the process of building a program. In Sorenson’s second season as the Cougs’ skipper, they are still in the process of...


Read More

Thompson concludes a successful high school career at Plains Signs with BYU

June 06, 2018 at 10:57 am | Lake County Leader Former Plains High School four-sport athlete Jessica Thompson admits she is used to staying busy and her rigorous schedule in high school should adequately prepare her for future endeavors at Brigh...


Read More

Red Devils, Lady Red Devils have multiple top-five finishes

June 04, 2018 at 3:04 pm | Lake County Leader Noxon High School competitor Levi Brubaker has consistently found himself in the top five in multiple track categories and at the Class 14-C Western District, he continued his trend of success....


Read More

Contact Us

(406) 826-3402
105 W. Lynch
P.O. Box 667
Plains, MT 59859

©2018 Clark Fork Valley Press | Mineral Independent Terms of Use Privacy Policy